In September 2015, the ISO 9001 Quality Management System certification was updated to address the needs of businesses and organisations in the 21st century.

The new standard is ISO 9001:2015. There is also an Australian/New Zealand version of this standard. Unfortunately because Standards Australia/NZ didn’t approve this standard until March 2016 it has been called AS/NZS ISO 9001:2016 which has caused some confusion. JAS-ANZ have adopted the ISO 9001:2015 version as the standard on the JAS-ANZ register and there is no option to be certified to the AS/NZS version at this stage. However there is no difference in content between the two standards.

If you are certified to ISO 9001:2008 there is a 3 year transition period to become certified to ISO 9001:2015. All ISO 9001:2008 certificates will be removed from the JAS-ANZ register after the 15th September 2018. JAS-ANZ have determined however that audits to the new standard must be completed by 15th March 2018 to provide sufficient time to address any non-conformances before the 2008 standard expires.

What are the main differences in content between the old and new version?

  • The adoption of the high level structure as set out in Annex SL of ISO Directives Part 1
  • An explicit requirement for risk-based thinking to support and improve the understanding and application of the process approach
  • Fewer prescriptive requirements
  • More flexibility regarding documentation
  • Improved applicability for services
  • A requirement to define the boundaries of the QMS
  •  Increased emphasis on organizational context
  • Increased leadership requirements
  • Greater emphasis on achieving desired process results to improve customer satisfaction

Download our ISO 9001:2015 documents to find out more.